Cities

Cities · 15. October 2019
Fort Lauderdale is a booming yacht town with an extraordinarily high number of gay and nudist people as well as transgender and other kinds of "non-traditional" sexual orientations, especially amongst the Couchsurfing community. Unfortunately, my original wish to find a boat here did not come true, but I did get a lot of insights into a world that has been rather strange for me so far by hanging out with almost only gay people and going to a naturist beach.
Cities · 30. September 2019
Mobile, pronounced Mobeeeel, located at the Gulf of Mexico in the south of Alabama, is especially known for its port and the shipbuilding industry. Now I am aware of the meaning of the song "Sweet home Alabama" and know that my sweet home will always be here in Mobile. I stayed for a long weekend with Mike in his idyllic house with a garden where I felt like in a dreamlike holiday apartment in the middle of the forest.
Cities · 26. September 2019
Three days in New Orleans showed me that not every US-American city is structured exactly the same and it is next to San Diego and Austin one of my favourite places I've got to know so far. My accommodation with my host Charles in the French Quarter in the heart of the historic quarter certainly contributed to this.
Cities · 23. September 2019
I spent two days in Houston with Ken and Rocky, two great hosts who showed me all around the city and gave me a good glimpse of Houston in my limited time there. Houston is the 4th largest city of the USA and especially known for the NASA Space Center, the oil and gas industry as well as a large number of excellent hospitals.
Cities · 20. September 2019
I spent four days together with Adam in Austin, the capital of Texas. I was so lucky to meet Adam at the Couch Crash in Monterrey and decided to come with him to Austin after the long weekend in Mexico. Thus also my route was clear. So far I had been faced with the decision to continue my journey southeast, along the Gulf of Mexico to the Caribbean to look for a crossing to Europe or to re-enter the U.S. and make my way to the east coast.
Cities · 21. June 2019
I crossed the border between Mexico and the USA eight times within one week, four times from Tijuana to San Diego and four times back. San Diego is a fascinating booming city with moderate climate all over the year and the most beautiful town in the USA I've seen so far (not only on this trip). To find out why I crossed the border to San Diego four times, read on here!
Cities · 21. June 2019
Tijuana is the most well-known border town of Mexico. You can't just find sexs, drugs and marihuana here but also the most-crossed border of the world and according to various webpages Tijuana is rated as the most dangerous town worldwide. I stayed for round about two weeks with Oscar and Robbie in Tijuana and made a lot of new experiences, including a little bit of dog rescue across the border and my first scooter and motorcycle tours.
Cities · 20. June 2019
On the way to Tijuana I already passed by Ensenada and Rosarita with Kenny, a few days later I came back with Oscar, Jin and Jason. The whole coastline offers a variety of beaches, some of them close to the booming cities, others more remote and only accessible by off-road vehicles or on foot. If you like fish, seafood and craft beers, the north-western region of Baja California is like paradise. The craft beer scene in particular has gained in importance in recent years.
Cities · 12. June 2019
Mazatlán is a city located on the Pacific Ocean, just opposite the southernmost tip of Baja California. Mazatlán is a word from the Nahuatl language and means "place of the stag", it is also known as "The Pearl of the Pacific" today. The city was founded in 1820 and in the middle of the 19th century, a large group of German immigrants came to Mazatlán and turned it into a thriving trading and port city...
Cities · 11. June 2019
Durango, officially Victoria de Durango, is the capital and largest city of the Mexican state of Durango. I spent a few days there together with Jonathan on our hitchhiking tour in Northern Mexico. We were really lucky to stay with Edgar who was an excellent host picking us up as well as Brenda, Karla, Jackie and Caro who showed us around the city. Amongst others, Durango is known for its alacranes (scorpions).

Show more